Posted in Projects

App Icons

regalado-appicontemplate
Amusement Park search App Icon

I really enjoyed the video done by Michael Flarup, and I have to agree with a lot of points he made, especially when it comes to simplicity and memorability. I’ve done icon work before, and one of my basic rules is that color and shape share an inverse relationship in order to maintain some semblance of simplicity – the more complex the shape, the less variety of colors there are, and vice versa.

I hope that it’s obvious what the larger shape on the left is, but just in case it isn’t, it’s supposed to be a roller coaster section. The star is just a whimsical shape to fill up the white space (or purple). I chose the color gradient because I thought that it was the best contrast to the white shapes while still being lighthearted enough.

Author:

I have a shelf full of Nerf, a computer filling up with games, and a heart full of geek rage.

Leave a Reply

